FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Paul Sweeney, NEIBA Publicist Date: Monday, May 22, 2006 Phone: 617/627-3586

2006 ALL-NEW ENGLAND DIVISION III BASEBALL TEAMS ANNOUNCED

MEDFORD – Fifty-three players from 26 teams were named to the 2006 All-New England First, Second and Third teams announced by the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) today. NCAA New England Regional Champion Wheaton College had five players voted to the three teams. NCAA New York Regional Champion Eastern Connecticut State University and Tufts University each had four players on the three teams. Fourteen schools in all had more than one player recognized.

Salem State College senior shortstop Derek Lyons was selected as the NEIBA Division III Player of the Year. Lyons hit .453 with 21 doubles, nine home runs and 52 runs batted in for the Vikings. Saint Joseph's College sophomore lefty Charlie Furbush was chosen as the Pitcher of the Year. He compiled a 10-1 record with five saves while striking out 115 and walking just 22 in 74.2 innings pitched. Wheaton's Eric Podbelski was named Coach of the Year. He has guided the Lyons into the College World Series with a school record for wins. Their 38-8 record included the nation's longest winning streak this spring of 24 games.

FIRST TEAM

- C Chris Kenney, Jr., Williams
- 1B Bryan McDavitt, Jr., Tufts
- 2B Alex Hurley, Jr., Johnson & Wales
- 3B Scott Guillerault, So, Wheaton
- SS Derek Lyons, Sr., Salem State
- OF Chris O'Connors, Fr., Rhode Island College
- OF Jim O'Leary, Sr., Tufts
- OF Jeremy Schilling, Sr., Keene State
- OF Ryan Bourque, Jr., Southern Maine
- DH Justin Collett, Fr., Salve Regina
- UT Jason Connelly, Sr., Western New England
- P Joe Vladeck, Sr., Amherst P – Charlie Furbush, So., St. Joseph's (ME)
- P William Riggieri, Jr., Salve Regina
- P Shawn Gilblair, Fr., Eastern Connecticut

SECOND TEAM

- C Nick Lefeber, So., Middlebury
- 1B Andy Koocher, Sr., Wheaton
- 2B Jeff LaHair, Sr., Worcester State
- 2B Tim Bourdon, Jr., Trinity
- 3B John Lanahan, So., Middlebury
- SS Paul Morgan, Jr., Williams
- OF Jared Lemieux, Sr., Bowdoin
- OF Joe Ramoin, Sr., Middlebury
- OF Tim Burbridge, Sr., Williams
- OF Rob Celentano, So., Salem State
- DH Ricky Leclerc, Sr., Bowdoin
- UT Greg Ford, So., Keene State
- P Tim Dunphy, Sr., Brandeis
- P Jason Pizzoferrato, Fr., Western New England
- P Chris McDonough, So., Wheaton
- P Eric Fama, So., Rhode Island College
- P Jamie Baker, Sr., Wheaton

-

THIRD TEAM

- C Chris Shanahan, Sr., Daniel Webster
- C Ted Dziuba, Sr., Babson
- 1B Max Arsenault, Jr., Southern Maine
- 2B Ray De La Cruz, Sr., Rhode Island College
- 2B Marc Garofalo, Sr., Eastern Connecticut
- 3B A.J. Turner, Jr., Eastern Nazarene
- SS Zach Golden, Sr., Brandeis
- SS Greg Chertok, Sr., Tufts
- OF Robert Kent, Fr., Mass Maritime
- OF Chuck Arena, Jr., Coast Guard

- OF Bob Howland, Sr., MCLA
- OF Eddie Skeffington, So., Southern Maine
- OF Randy Re, Jr., Eastern Connecticut
- DH Nick Martinho, So., Suffolk
- UT Matt Bishop, Sr., Endicott
- P Zak Smotherman, Sr., Tufts
- P Chris Anderson, So., Western New England
- P Louie Bernardini, So., Wheaton
- P Mike Jarbeau, Sr., Coast Guard
- P Scott Lynch, So., Salem State
- P Justin Davis, Jr., Eastern Connecticut

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Derek Lyons, Salem State

PITCHER OF THE YEAR

Charlie Furbush, St. Joseph's (ME)

COACH OF THE YEAR

Eric Podbelski, Wheaton